WoLLIC 2024

WoLLIC 2024

30th Workshop on Logic, Language, Information and Computation

WoLLIC 2024
10-13 June 2024
Table Setting

Mathematical Institute and Institute for Computer Science,
University of Bern, Switzerland
Center of Informatics, Federal University of Pernambuco, Brazil
Important Dates:
Abstract deadline: 22 January 2024
Full paper deadline: 29 January 2024
Author notification: 15 April 2024
Camera-ready version: 6 May 2024
Workshop dates: 10-13 June 2024
There are student travel grants available.

WoLLIC is an annual international forum on inter-disciplinary research involving formal logic, computing and programming theory, and natural language and reasoning. Each meeting includes invited talks and tutorials as well as contributed papers. The thirtieth WoLLIC will be held at the University of Bern, Switzerland, 10-13 June 2024.


Contributions are invited on all pertinent subjects, with particular interest in cross-disciplinary topics. Typical but not exclusive areas of interest are:

Non-classical logics;

Novel computation models and paradigms;

Proof mining, type theory, effective learnability and explainable AI;

Logical approach to natural language and reasoning;

Foundational aspects of information organization, search, flow, sharing, and protection;

Philosophical logic;

Foundations of computing, programming, and Artificial Intelligence;

Broad notions of proof and belief;

Formal methods in software and hardware development;

Logics of programs, actions and resources;

Foundations of mathematics;

Philosophy of language;

Paper Submission

Proposed contributions should be in English, and consist of a scholarly exposition accessible to the non-specialist, including motivation, background, and comparison with related works. Articles should be written in the LaTeX format of LNCS by Springer (see author's instructions at Springer webpage). They must not exceed 12 pages, with up to 5 additional pages for references and technical appendices. The paper's main results must not be published or submitted for publication in refereed venues, including journals and other scientific meetings. It is expected that each accepted paper be presented at the meeting by one of its authors in person. (At least one author is required to pay a full, on-site registration fee before granting that the paper will be published in the proceedings.) Papers must be submitted electronically at the WoLLIC 2024 EasyChair website.


The proceedings of WoLLIC 2024, including both invited and contributed papers, will be published in advance of the meeting as a volume in Springer's LNCS series. In addition, abstracts will be published in the Conference Report section of the Logic Journal of the IGPL, and selected contributions will be published (after a new round of reviewing) as a special post-conference WoLLIC 2024 issue of a scientific journal (tba).

Invited Speakers


Programme Committee

Guillermo Badia, University of Queensland, Australia

Thomas Bolander, Danish Technical University, Denmark

Célia Borlido, University of Coimbra, Portugal

Sabine Broda, University of Porto, Portugal

Zoé Christoff, University of Groningen, Netherlands

Willem Conradie, University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa

Anupam Das, University of Birmingham, UK

Jacques Duparc, University of Lausanne, Switzerland

Federico Faroldi, University of Pavia, Italy

Chris Fermüller, Vienna University of Technology, Austria

Mário Florido, University of Porto, Portugal

Sujata Ghosh, Indian Statistical Institute, India

Nina Gierasimczuk, Danish Technical University, Denmark

Marianna Girlando, University of Amsterdam, Netherlands

Makoto Kanazawa, Hosei University, Japan

Fenrong Liu, Tsinghua University, China

Hugo Luiz Mariano, University of São Paulo, Brazil

George Metcalfe, University of Bern, Switzerland (co-chair)

Cláudia Nalon, University of Brasilia, Brazil

Carles Noguera, University of Siena, Italy

Magdalena Ortiz, University of Umeå, Sweden

Aybüke Özgün, University of Amsterdam, Netherlands

Dusko Pavlovic, University of Hawaii, USA

Sylvain Pogodalla, INRIA Nancy, France

Revantha Ramanayake, University of Groningen, Netherlands

Luca Reggio, University College London, UK

Mehrnoosh Sadrzadeh, University College London, UK

Igor Sedlár, Czech Academy of Sciences, Czech Republic

Viorica Sofronie-Stokkermans, University of Koblenz-Landau, Germany

Thomas Studer, University of Bern, Switzerland (co-chair)

Sara Ugolini, IIIA – CSIC Barcelona, Spain

Mladen Vukovic, University of Zagreb, Croatia

Fan Yang, Utrecht University, Netherlands

Richard Zach, University of Calgary, Canada

Organizing Committee

George Metcalfe (co-chair)

Thomas Studer (co-chair)

Bettina Choffat

Armand Feuilleaubois

Anjolina de Oliveira

Ruy de Queiroz

Simon Santschi

Borja Sierra Miranda

Naomi Tokuda

Lukas Zenger

Advisory Committee

Johan van Benthem

Joe Halpern

Wilfrid Hodges

Angus Macintyre

Hiroakira Ono

Jouko Väänänen

Steering Committee

Samson Abramsky

Agata Ciabattoni

Anuj Dawar

Juliette Kennedy

Ulrich Kohlenbach

Daniel Leivant

Leonid Libkin

Lawrence Moss

Luke Ong

Valeria de Paiva

Elaine Pimentel

Ruy de Queiroz

Alexandra Silva

Renata Wassermann


University of Bern Association for Symbolic Logic European Association for Computer Science Logic Sociedade Brasileira de Lógica